Sysop Console for WG 3.x or v10

Have an idea or suggestion for features to be included in the upcoming The Major BBS v10? Let us know here
Post Reply
User avatar
Milton
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2020 1:30 am
Location: USA

Sysop Console for WG 3.x or v10

Post by Milton »

Any plans to bring back the original Sysop console?
Was much more handy.
WG 3.x has none.
Just an Audit Trail.

Kracken
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2020 1:12 pm

Re: Sysop Console for WG 3.x or v10

Post by Kracken »

Milton wrote:
> Any plans to bring back the original Sysop console?
> Was much more handy.
> WG 3.x has none.
> Just an Audit Trail.

Console is not enabled by default after fresh install.
You must do so through registry (REGEDIT.EXE)

The key is: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Galacticomm\Worldgroup Server\CurrentVersion
Change value of "UseConsoleWindow" to 1

Abraxis
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2020 8:49 pm

Re: Sysop Console for WG 3.x or v10

Post by Abraxis »

[quote=Kracken post_id=398 time=1598627175 user_id=58]
Milton wrote:
> Any plans to bring back the original Sysop console?
> Was much more handy.
> WG 3.x has none.
> Just an Audit Trail.

Console is not enabled by default after fresh install.
You must do so through registry (REGEDIT.EXE)

The key is: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Galacticomm\Worldgroup Server\CurrentVersion
Change value of "UseConsoleWindow" to 1
[/quote]

Just a note here... My Sysop console went back to the original console 0. When I found it, it was not in Local_machine.
Finally found it by searching for UseConsoleWindow.
Abraxis/Len
Mainline Information Systems

User avatar
Duckula
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2020 1:19 am

Re: Sysop Console for WG 3.x or v10

Post by Duckula »

Yes - we plan to make it an option in the new installer package so you don't have to dig around in the registry
-- Duckula (Site admin / owner )

Bloodrock
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2020 4:27 pm

Re: Sysop Console for WG 3.x or v10

Post by Bloodrock »

just wanted to add that if bbs is running on win7-10 the console setting will be found under the wow portion of the registry

win 10
Computer\HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-1426316918-447923561-2677206720-1001\SOFTWARE\Classes\VirtualStore\MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Galacticomm\Worldgroup Server\CurrentVersion

Computer\HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-1426316918-447923561-2677206720-1001_Classes\VirtualStore\MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Galacticomm\Worldgroup Server\CurrentVersion

daniel_spain
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2020 2:39 am

Re: Sysop Console for WG 3.x or v10

Post by daniel_spain »

Milton wrote:
> Any plans to bring back the original Sysop console?
> Was much more handy.
> WG 3.x has none.
> Just an Audit Trail.

run bbs as a service and use the remote console java applet. ip/remote

Post Reply