Not sure where this should go?

Chat, tips, tricks and help for Veteran Sysops
Kraklaha

Not sure where this should go?

Post by Kraklaha »

Honestly, I am unsure of where this post should go. There is not a section for discussion regarding WG.

I read before that the goal to recode the system was due to requiring a VM for a present WG install of WG 3.x . This is not the case. The existing WG 3.x install has no problems being installed on present versions of windows.

Personally, I've been a Sysop for quite a long time. Due to a recent discussion on the MajorMUD facebook group I stepped down. The timeline of WG is fairly well documented until the bank took it back due to a foreclosure on the company that owned the rights to WG. Then we hear that Rick Hadsell picked up the rights from said bank, but I have never seen a legal record of this transaction and nobody that I have known over the years has either. Only a discussion board post about how he did it, but not to share it publicly due to not wanting to draw attention. Most transactions like this I have seen over the years were called something else: Fraud. Now we are being told that this rights that were supposedly procured by Rick have now been transferred to someone else?

I stopped sysoping because for years we have treated WG and MajorMUD as abandonware because it has gone unsupported with no formal service of any kind for so long. At the first notice I saw that someone had the rights to this software, I instantly ceased use and removed any and all files/support for WG as I hosted them in order to do some research and see what was what.

So... Hate to be the legalistic bastard in all this, but I feel this is a fair piece of knowledge/proof that we have a right to see. Especially in this day and age. Someone online text and/or words just aren't enough anymore.

Duckula

Re: Not sure where this should go?

Post by Duckula »

> I read before that the goal to recode the system was due to requiring a VM