MBBS v10 Open Beta Thread

A place to report feedback/issues with The Major BBS v10 official testing site
Post Reply
User avatar
Duckula
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2020 1:19 am

MBBS v10 Open Beta Thread

Post by Duckula »

Please post any issues you are having with the newly released v10 Beta Upgrade in this thread.
-- Duckula

// Site admin
// Galacticomm IP owner

User avatar
Milton
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2020 1:30 am
Location: USA

Re: MBBS v10 Open Beta Thread

Post by Milton »

It's been awhile since I played with the windows version.
How do we put in old module codes into the config to register them after installing?
What program is loaded?

Also anyone got is5launcher.zip for installing 16 bit installers? Toasty site is down.
Last edited by Milton on Sat Jul 24, 2021 8:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Duckula
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2020 1:19 am

Re: MBBS v10 Open Beta Thread

Post by Duckula »

Hi Milton,

Activation codes for modules are entered in the Security and Accounting Configuration Editor (WGSCNF.EXE).
-- Duckula

// Site admin
// Galacticomm IP owner

Kracken
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2020 1:12 pm

Re: MBBS v10 Open Beta Thread

Post by Kracken »

Works well on my side.
Messed up with btrieve errors when moving WGSERV folder from my XP to WIN10 vm, but realized I need to run that btrieve registry hack first.
Upgrade works normally.

The console view was messed up, but I adjusted CMD window to 80 x 25 (heigh x width)
Modules looks OK so far (elwynor)

daniel_spain
Posts: 278
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2020 2:39 am

Re: MBBS v10 Open Beta Thread

Post by daniel_spain »

would love to know when i can put a server up to test my main Tele-Arena engines. Got a Classic, and Platinum with new versions utilizing my new updated sqlite wg engine.

User avatar
Duckula
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2020 1:19 am

Re: MBBS v10 Open Beta Thread

Post by Duckula »

Kracken wrote:
> Works well on my side.
> Messed up with btrieve errors when moving WGSERV folder from my XP to
> WIN10 vm, but realized I need to run that btrieve registry hack first.
> Upgrade works normally.
>
> The console view was messed up, but I adjusted CMD window to 80 x 25 (heigh
> x width)
> Modules looks OK so far (elwynor)


Thanks for the feedback! I should have added the console dimensions to the readme as it is a known issue - I will do that shortly. Strangely some of the console keys don't map properly, this seems to be a windows thing. We will re-map those that don't work.

If you are having trouble with them try using ctrl or alt with the keypress and see if that helps.
-- Duckula

// Site admin
// Galacticomm IP owner

User avatar
Duckula
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2020 1:19 am

Re: MBBS v10 Open Beta Thread

Post by Duckula »

daniel_spain wrote:
> would love to know when i can put a server up to test my main Tele-Arena
> engines. Got a Classic, and Platinum with new versions utilizing my new
> updated sqlite wg engine.

Feel free to do it whenever you like (as long as you are prepared to upgrade from WG 3.2 / 3.3). Hoping to have the standalone installer soon.
-- Duckula

// Site admin
// Galacticomm IP owner

Kracken
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2020 1:12 pm

Re: MBBS v10 Open Beta Thread

Post by Kracken »

Found that In WIN10 console, to register an ALT you need to press CTRL+ALT
So CTRL+ALT+W for the Worldlink Scheduler.
What's strange is that the tab shortcuts with CTRL+ALT works for all except (A)ccount, (E)mulate, (U)sers.
TAB key works fine, so I can reach those tabs this way instead.
There must be something interfering with the global Win10 hotkey...

User avatar
Duckula
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2020 1:19 am

Re: MBBS v10 Open Beta Thread

Post by Duckula »

It is strange - still looking into it!
-- Duckula

// Site admin
// Galacticomm IP owner

daniel_spain
Posts: 278
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2020 2:39 am

Re: MBBS v10 Open Beta Thread

Post by daniel_spain »

Duckula wrote:
> daniel_spain wrote:
> > would love to know when i can put a server up to test my main Tele-Arena
> > engines. Got a Classic, and Platinum with new versions utilizing my new
> > updated sqlite wg engine.
>
> Feel free to do it whenever you like (as long as you are prepared to upgrade from WG
> 3.2 / 3.3). Hoping to have the standalone installer soon.

eww i run a custom core 3.12 i found it less buggy especially on the console and ntvdm side of things.
3.20 and 3.30 can hang every so often as well. also my very first tele-arena classic ran under a
ms-access database using the odbc driver powerlink and that was very unforgiving in 3.30
with sqlite it is not much now but so much was done to the core it is basically my own
flavor now. twitter api and a listserver built right into the baseline as well as an auto-updater
to update any of my addons on-the-fly. i will check it out though.

Post Reply