Menu Tree / MDF Files

Chat, tips, tricks and help for Veteran Sysops
Post Reply
User avatar
BlaZ
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 12:24 am
Location: Peoria, IL
Contact:

Menu Tree / MDF Files

Post by BlaZ »

I'm pretty sure you can rename modules by changing the .MDF file for it. My question is...how does the menu tree handle references to that module? Will it automatically pick up the new name from the .MDF file? Or will it break any references to that old module name until you manually update the menu page that calls it?

User avatar
Duckula
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2020 1:19 am

Re: Menu Tree / MDF Files

Post by Duckula »

Renaming the MDF does not reflect in the Menu Tree from what I have seen. I tried this when changing Worldlink -> Majorlink so there must be references in the menu DAT file that need to be altered.
-- Duckula

// Site admin
// Galacticomm IP owner

User avatar
BlaZ
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 12:24 am
Location: Peoria, IL
Contact:

Re: Menu Tree / MDF Files

Post by BlaZ »

Thanks for replying, and for testing this during our chat in the Teleconference. We determined that any menu tree pages referencing the old module name will break, but will retain any command line options, and can be edited in the Menu Tree Editor to switch them to the new module name.

This is all good news, since the question is related to a project I'm planning where over 200 of my menu tree options will break. If I had to retype all those command lines, it would have been a daunting task. Just having to go in and flip the module to the new name on each will be far less of a hassle.

I'll report back with any issues, if any, that I encounter at that time.

Post Reply