Arctic Trivia

Add-on module development discussions, including non-Galacticomm branded modules
daniel_spain
Posts: 395
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2020 2:39 am

Arctic Trivia

Post by daniel_spain »

after quite a few emails I pumped out a trivia module. This module allows users to talk with one another in a teleconference-like environment complete with a wide array of teleconference commands and they answer questions that print every X seconds to gain points.
It also comes with a tournament mode that allows a trivia moderator to run mini games for custom prizes and also has a built in action and question editor.
There is also a bunch of sysop commands and level 4 options to allow you to really customize your game.

file can be picked up in the ISVARC file library at bbs.arcticzonebbs.net as TRIV110N.ZIP right now it is only compatible
with 3.xx but will build for wg 2.0 and bbs 6.xx if requested.

Online
User avatar
BlaZ
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 12:24 am
Location: Peoria, IL
Contact:

Re: Arctic Trivia

Post by BlaZ »

I have this running on The Penalty Box as of this morning.

I found a bug that crashed my WG server. Everything works fine with only 1 player in the game. As soon as 2 players are in at the same time, every time you press enter it lists the other player again... so it will say "BlaZTest" are here.
Then you press enter and it says "BlaZTestTest" are here, then "BlaZTestTestTest" etc, etc. Once that has happened, the next player that enters the game crashes the WG server.

Hopefully this makes sense. I don't really want to do it again to take screenshots. I'd rather avoid the crash. :)

BlaZ

majorsysop
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 1:19 pm

Re: Arctic Trivia

Post by majorsysop »

Would love to try it on MajorBBS Free Edition v6.25 ... nice work Daniel!

daniel_spain
Posts: 395
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2020 2:39 am

Re: Arctic Trivia

Post by daniel_spain »

majorsysop wrote:
> Would love to try it on MajorBBS Free Edition v6.25 ... nice work Daniel!

no problem I will compile a bc3 version this evening.

User avatar
Duckula
Posts: 359
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2020 1:19 am

Re: Arctic Trivia

Post by Duckula »

Nice work Dan, always great to see new modules being released!
-- Duckula

// Site admin
// Galacticomm IP owner

daniel_spain
Posts: 395
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2020 2:39 am

Re: Arctic Trivia

Post by daniel_spain »

compiled a version specifically for The Major BBS 6.xx and for this specific version i reduced the price by 50%
it may be downloaded from bbs.arcticzonebbs.net from the ISVARC file library as TRIV110M.ZIP

this was compiled tonight under a bcc 3.1 major bbs development kit i had to change some underlying systems
that were not compatible with the major bbs so if i missed anything please let me know.

Online
User avatar
BlaZ
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 12:24 am
Location: Peoria, IL
Contact:

Re: Arctic Trivia

Post by BlaZ »

Here's some more details on the bug I've been experiencing....

To recreate this, first a user has to enter Arctic Trivia. Then a 2nd user needs to enter it. It's the 2nd user that will see the bug. The 1st user will not see the same thing.

When the 2nd user presses enter, it will list his name immediately followed by the other user. The next time he presses enter, it will list the other user twice, then three times, and so on.... as shown here:

https://imgur.com/SlBC6Uc

This continues indefinitely.... as shown here:

https://imgur.com/A7eqs2e

Once this bug has begun appearing, the next time a person enters Arctic Trivia, the WG Server will crash with the following error:

https://imgur.com/ZhH4Pvf


Hope this helps!!

BlaZ

daniel_spain
Posts: 395
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2020 2:39 am

Re: Arctic Trivia

Post by daniel_spain »

BlaZ wrote:
> Here's some more details on the bug I've been experiencing....
>
> To recreate this, first a user has to enter Arctic Trivia. Then a 2nd user
> needs to enter it. It's the 2nd user that will see the bug. The 1st user
> will not see the same thing.
>
> When the 2nd user presses enter, it will list his name immediately followed
> by the other user. The next time he presses enter, it will list the other
> user twice, then three times, and so on.... as shown here:
>
> https://imgur.com/SlBC6Uc
>
> This continues indefinitely.... as shown here:
>
> https://imgur.com/A7eqs2e
>
> Once this bug has begun appearing, the next time a person enters Arctic
> Trivia, the WG Server will crash with the following error:
>
> https://imgur.com/ZhH4Pvf
>
>
> Hope this helps!!
>
> BlaZ

ok so dupe failed....

I logged in Sysop, Ice, and Test.

1 > Ice and Test are here with you.
2 > Sysop and Test are here with you.
3 > Sysop and Ice are here with you.

Sysop and Ice had their names in bright red since they have the master key
Test had their name in Cyan since they are a Male user.

I will run one additional test where I will put

1 master key user, 1 trivia-sysop key user, 1 male user, and 1 female user to make sure my color parsing does not break
in an additional setup.

I am also gonna create that exact name BlazTest just to see if maybe something in that triggered it (unlikely but the life of debugging)

right quick though I noticed Test had their name in white..... by default the color schemes are:

MASTER key users are RED
SYSOP key users are YELLOW
MALE users CYAN
FEMALE users MAGENTA

(upcoming update makes tournament-moderators GREEN)

being that name was white.... possible it is parsing multiple times unless you set it to white?

will play with this more.

Online
User avatar
BlaZ
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 12:24 am
Location: Peoria, IL
Contact:

Re: Arctic Trivia

Post by BlaZ »

Ahhh! My test account is sex-less. It shows as ? in my user list. That must be the problem. It doesn't know what color to make it.

daniel_spain
Posts: 395
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2020 2:39 am

Re: Arctic Trivia

Post by daniel_spain »

BlaZ wrote:
> Ahhh! My test account is sex-less. It shows as ? in my user list. That
> must be the problem. It doesn't know what color to make it.

ill write a catch for that and have it default to a color. without a color pass the string variable is just overwriting with the name

Post Reply